Author Topic: Anti-terrorism/digital piracy laws vs. Human rights and democratic constitutions  (Read 5016 times)

Emp_Dragon

• Harem Master
  • Submit to the power of Sam
    • MSN Messenger - erik.arteus@hotmail.com
    • View Profile
I've got no knowledge about such laws outside Europe, but within Sweden and the EU there are a number of such laws beeing debated and implemented in the highest political levels directly against public oppinion and against human rights and expressed wordings of many national constitutions.

Nationally in Sweden, there is the FRA & IPRED laws, the former grants the Defence Radio intelligence bureau the right to wiretap any and every form of communication crossing the national borders. Due to the geography of Sweden, a lot of the telephone and internet trafic is routed through neighbouring scandinavian countries as many scandinavian telecom operators operate in all of the nordic countries. Ergo: more or less all communication in sweden is constantly monitored by our own government.
The IPRED law is derived from a EU directive and in effect grants private enterprises police authorities in regards to intelectual property such as music, films and video games.
Then there are other EU directives that are debated in it's practically closed political hierarchy.
Among those there are two that stand out. the Data storage directive, a directive that, if implemented, will force telecom operators to monitor, record and store personal information about their clients for a set number of years and to hand over such information to government agencies who will be able to pass on that information at their own discretion.
Then there is the SWIFT directive that apparently will be voted on this thursday. That directive grants the US access to EVERY bank record in 27 European countries for the last 5 years and counting with no insurances what so ever.

charles

• Harem Master
  • LAWNMOWER MASACRE
    • MSN Messenger - charles_wilkinson@hotmail.com